top of page
  • Writer's pictureWessam Hazaymeh

Alternative Spring Break: Volunteers of HOPE

Four lessons I learned after a week of giving and sharing.

 

In March of this year, I was lucky enough to meet some incredible people as well as remind myself of the importance of volunteering. At Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) as well as various other college campuses, there is an Alternative Spring Break program. This program allows college students to spend their spring break volunteering their time outside of their own community. During my week, I volunteered with nine students at Focus Hope in Detroit, Michigan. This organization's mission is to give back to the community as a way of fighting against racism through kind acts. I was humbled by the joyous energy of children and the motivation those around me had to give back to others. Through the tiring hours of packaging food and caring for children, I learned four lessons I hope to carry with me.


1. Together, we can do so much.

Two VCU Freshman, Aleyha Kirchner (left) and Wessam Hazaymeh (right), take a photo as they continue packaging food.

An important part to Focus Hope's mission is to provide food to those in the community who cannot afford necessities such as food. In the four days we volunteered, we were able to package nearly two thousand food packages. The ten of us were not alone. We had help from a group of incredible volunteers from Central Michigan University. Personally, I do not believe there is one person who can change the world for the better, but it is more of a team effort. With a shared goal of giving back and similar passions for volunteering, the two schools came together to help out the Detroit community. Our teamwork went to a smaller scale because we worked so well together that we were able to help each other out whenever someone was tired or started to fall behind as the assembly line proceeded.

If we want to help the world, we need to come together. Selfless acts should not turn into selfish purpose.


2. Children are the future.

For two days, our group went to another part of Focus Hope's organization - the daycare. At this daycare I learned patience, fast action, and the importance of giving attention to each kid. At the beginning, he kids were not open to engaging with the volunteers, but as soon as a game or book was introduced to them, they quickly rushed over with energy and interest. While a young kid's attention span is not as strong, they are still so curious about the world around them. The ability to read is so important, so never lose your patience when a kid is curious about reading or is having a harder time than others. They are the future lawyers, teachers, doctors, and so much more.


With a game in hand, ASB volunteer Wessam Hazaymeh works with a child at the daycare to learn numbers.

3. Count your blessings, not your struggles.


Throughout this trip, I continued to reflect. I learned a valuable life lesson from the interactions I had with the organization's volunteers and employees: we are incredibly fortunate. Everyday, even before the trip, I remind myself of how blessed I am to live the life I lead. Everyone is allowed to express their struggles, but don't forget some people have struggles which may weigh them down more. We should all count our blessings and lift up those around us. Everyone around you, friends or strangers, are existing at the same moment as you, but some lives move faster than others. Thanksgiving is not the only day you can count your blessings.

4. Your closest friends were once strangers.

ASB volunteers pose for a photo in front of a "Focus Hope" sign.

I went in sharing space with nine strangers, but little did I know I would end this week with some close and inspiring friends. It is crazy to think I was on campus for several months with the people pictured, but only recently met them. During the week, we bonded over: strange food combinations, music, movies/tv shows, and our passion for giving back. Each of them have special things about them: Gwen's goosebump-giving singing, Nimra's sense of humor, Jillian's thoughtfulness, Payal's motivation, Aleyha's travels, Laila's incredible sense of fashion, Cindy's heart-warming kindness, Alexia's joyous laughter, and Lisa's adventure stories. This trip placed people in my life I never knew I needed, but everyday I am thankful for them. They are familiar faces on a campus of over 30 thousand students, and for that I learned that strangers are just the friends I haven't met.



Bonus: Lead a life with purpose.

Were you expecting a bonus lesson? Here is it. Lead a life worth sharing - whatever that may mean to you. Personally, a life full of purpose is one in which I can inspire and uplift those around me. I want the adventures of my life to revolve around helping people in different ways, whether it is direct or indirect impact.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page