top of page
  • Writer's pictureWessam Hazaymeh

Beginning to Reflect on My Time Abroad


It feels like yesterday I was sitting on the floor of the Dulles airport, charging my phone, and impatiently tapping my foot for the boarding call. It feels like yesterday I was at the airport when a snapchat notification from my freshman year roommate popped up on my phone and I found myself in tears, listening to her kind and encouraging words.



On January 7th, 2020, I started my journey to my study abroad location -- Athens, Greece. Landing at 2 a.m. January 9th was just the beginning of rollercoaster of a journey. I was not sure what to expect, but I knew I was expecting to leave full of stories.


I remember the walk to campus seeming so far the first few days -- everything was unfamiliar. Soon enough, maneuvering between trees, stepping aside at the right time to not hit a pole, and the steep uphill walk comforted me. This was the new route to campus.


From my time there, I've come to know a different Greece. This country is so much more than the beautiful white buildings topped with blue domes or the beautiful beach destinations. Within the uneven streets, behind the rows of orange trees there are people who welcome you with the warmest embrace.

Soon, I will share so many stories about classes, midterm stress, and weekend travels during study abroad!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page